Several candidates have officially filed paperwork to be on the ballot to run for election to various Somervell County offices in 2018.

The first day to file to be on the Primary Election ballot was on Nov. 11. The deadline for filing is set for 6 p.m. on Dec. 11.

As of Tuesday, here are the individuals who have filed the necessary paperwork to be on the ballot, according to Deedee Jones, county chair of the Somervell Republican Party, and Lori Whitworth, county chair of the Somervell Democrat Party:


Commissioner, Precinct 2 — Judy Nawrocki.


County judge — Danny Chambers.

County clerk — Michelle Reynolds.

County treasurer — Kim Freeland.

Commissioner, Precinct 2 (registered voters of Precinct 2 only) — Dwayne Johnson, Richard Talavera, Ramon Bunt.

Commissioner, Precinct 4 (registered voters of Precinct 4 only) — Wade Busch, Doug Mitchell.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1 (registered voters of Precincts 1 and 2 only) — Shane Tipton, Ronnie Webb.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2 (registered voters of Precincts 3 and 4 only) — Scott May, Matt Holder.

Early voting for the Primary Election starts Tuesday, Feb. 20 and ends Friday, March 2. The Primary Election wll be held on Tuesday, March 6.

The final day to register to vote in the March Primary will be Monday, Feb. 5. The last day to apply for a ballot by mail (received, not postmarked) is Friday, Feb. 23. The deadline for a ballot by mail to be received is election day, Tuesday, March 6.