Matt Peelman and Brandon Fipps received two of the Somervell County Fire Department’s top awards for 2017 at its recent banquet ceremony.

Peelman was named as the Career Firefighter of the Year, which goes each year to a member of the paid professional firefighting staff at SCFD. Peelman, who has been a firefighter for three years, was the SCFD’s 2016 Officer of the Year.

Steve Willis, SCFD’s assistant fire chief, said of Peelman, “He takes on a lot of projects and works independently of supervision.”

Fipps was selected as the Volunteer Firefighter of the Year.

“Also as a volunteer, he has taken on some projects,” Willis said of Fipps. “He is a liaison for the ham radio operators.”

Among the other major award winners for 2017 were Michael Laviada, who is Officer of the Year, Reserve Firefighter of the Year Nathan Huhn, and Rookie of the Year Donna Owens.

Blaine Stroud received Member Emeritus status, retiring after 20 years of firefighting service.

Volunteer Firefighter of the Year 2017

Brandon Fipps

Career Firefighter of the Year 2017

Matt Peelman

Reserve Firefighter of the Year 2017

Nathan Huhn

Officer of the Year 2017

Michael Laviada

Rookie of the Year 2017

Donna Owens

Member Emeritus (retirement after 20 years)

Blaine Stroud

Explorer of the Year 2017

Emma Turner

20-Year Service Awards

Jason Sanchez

15-Year Service Awards

None this year

10-Year Service Award

Jerry Darnell, Michael Laviada, Ashileen Shepard, Brad Smith

5-Year Service Award

Dakota Stroud

EMT Certification 2017

Trevor Crawford

Ben Welch

Fallon Wirsing

EMT-Advanced Certification 2017

Tyler Brown

EMR Certifications 2017

Kelby Bridwell, David Culp, Brandon Fipps, Eddie Stroud, Nicole Gilbert, Mandy Bradford, Kaine Popejoy, Randy Hurtado, Andrew Vance, John Mark Thomas.