The early voting period for the election of two new members to serve on the Glen Rose Independent School District’s Board of Trustees will begin Monday, April 22, and end on Tuesday, April 30.

Early voting by personal appearance will be conducted between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on weekdays, at the Glen Rose ISD’s Administration Building, 1102 Stadium Drive in Glen Rose.

Election Day is Saturday, May 4. Voting on Election Day will be held in the Glen Rose City Hall.

Applications for ballots by mail must be received no later than the close of business on Tuesday, April 23. They should be mailed to Judy Shipman, Glen Rose ISD, P.O. Box 2129, Glen Rose TX 76043 (email:

Five candidates filed to run for the two open at-large positions on the seven-member board. The candidates are Jason Evans, Matt Langford, Tanya Myers and Brian Statler. Both Langford and Statler ran unsuccessfully last year, while Marilyn Phillips and Paul Phillips were elected to fill the two positions that were open at that time.

After serving on the school board for nearly 15 years, Wade Busch was elected to the Precinct 4 position on the Somervell County Commissioners Court. Busch turned in his resignation on Dec. 20, 2018, in time to start his two-year Commissioners Court term.

The school board appointed Kevin Taylor to fill Busch’s unexpired term, which ends in May.

The other GRISD trustee position opening is currently held by Brady Brown, who chose not to run for reelection.

The other current board members are President Kelley Snodgrass, Secretary Andy Snow and Jason Dillard.