The entire field of local candidates for the upcoming elections is now known after the latest filing deadlines — except for one special election for a spot on the Glen Rose City Council — have passed.

Details on important dates in the upcoming election cycle can be found online at


The two-year terms of three of the five at-large positions on the Glen Rose City Council are expiring, and six people made the filing deadline to run in the May 2 election.

The six who will be on the ballot for those three positions are (in alphabetical order by last name): Chris Bryant, Julia Douglas, Randy Elmore, Kelly Harris, Jack Johnson and Dennis Moore.

There will also be a special election for another spot currently held by Richard Vaughn. When Rhonda Hawthorne resigned because she took another job with the city as office manger at Oakdale Park, Vaughn was appointed to fill that vacancy. The special election filing deadline for that spot will be March 2.

Bryant, Douglas, Johnson are also incumbents. Moore has previously served on the City Council for a number of years, and is a former Glen Rose mayor.

The other current member serving on the City Council is Johnny Martin, whose term will expire in May 2021. Mayor Pam Miller’s term will also expire in May 2021.


Four people filed to run in the May 2 election for three places that are expiring in 2020 on the Glen Rose Independent School District’s Board of Trustees.

Those who made the filing deadline are Paul Hayes IV, Jeff Hansen, Matt Langford and incumbent Jason Dillard. Dillard, currently the board’s vice president began serving in 2014.

Longtime board President Kelley Snodgrass, along with current board Secretary Andy Snow, chose not to seek reelection. Snodgrass began serving on the board of trustees in 2002. Snow has been a member since 2008.

The trustees whose places are not up for reelection this time around are Tanya Myers, Marilyn Phillips, Jason Evans and Paul Phillips.

When elected, the trustees serve three-year terms. The terms of Paul Phillips and Marilyn Phillips will expire in 2021, while those of Evans and Myers will expire in 2021.


Somervell County's current Precinct 1 Constable Mike Reynolds is running for reelection, but Precinct 2 Constable Jeff Slaton is not. Neal Bieler, who ran against Slaton for the position in 2016, was the lone candidate who filed to run for Precinct 2 constable.

Both Reynolds and Bieler are Republicans, and there are no Democrats running.


There are seven places on the Glen Rose Medical Center’s Board of Directors. Three current board members chose not to seek reelection — Pat Bruce, Pam Parsons and Dwayne Griffin.

The five people who met the filing deadline are: Bryan Barnes, Max Bly and Jeannie Simpson, along with incumbents Margaret Drake and Dr. Steven Vacek.

Mina Douglas, senior administrative assistant for the hospital, stated in an email that since no other candidates filed to run, there will be agenda item for the next regular meeting (Feb. 27) to cancel the election. During the board’s 7 p.m. meeting on the final Thursday of May, the five people who filed for the five available spots will be sworn in and officers for the new term will be chosen.

Current board members who are in the middle of their two-year terms and whose places will be expiring next year are current board President Ron Hankins and current Vice President Brett Nabors.