Although Texas voters won’t be casting ballots in May, their voices will be heard — eventually.

Gov. Greg Abbott issued a proclamation on March 18 that allowed local elections in the state to be postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic concerns.

The May 2 local elections in Texas have been switched to Tuesday, Nov. 3. The primary election runoffs that had been set for May 26 have been moved to July 14.

Somervell County Elections Administrator said on Wednesday that guidelines on any other potential unforeseen changes in voting procedures, such as voting by mail or early voting, if deemed necessary, would be handled by Texas Secretary of State Ruth Hughs.

Four of the five seats on the Glen Rose City Council are now scheduled to be decided on Nov. 3. The regular two-year terms of incumbents Chris Bryant, Julia Douglas and Jack Johnson expire this year, and all three filed to run for re-election.

Also, Richard Vaughn will be seeking to retain his position, in a separate vote against challenger Chip Joslin. That’s because Vaughn was appointed by vote of the City Council on Aug. 20 to replace former Council member Rhonda Hawthorne after she resigned from her spot in order to take a job as office manager at city-owned Oakdale Park.

There are three challengers trying to unseat the incumbents for the at-large seats — Randy Elmore, Kelly Harris and former mayor and Council member Dennis Moore.

The current terms of Council member Johnny Martin and Mayor Pam Miller will expire in May 2021.

The Republican Party Primary on March 3 had already decided some of the local races.

Somervell County voters re-elected Alan West as sheriff over challenger Tony Yocham. Also, Somervell County Precinct 1 Constable Mike Reynolds was uncontested in retaining his position, and Neal Bieler won the Precinct 2 constable spot, also uncontested. No Democrats ran for either constable position.

Other uncontested local winners on March 3 were County Attorney Andrew Lucas, Tax Assessor/Collector April Gore Campos and District Clerk Virginia Dickson.

The winners in the two Somervell County Commissioner races will be decided on July 14 in the Republican runoff delayed from May.

The Place 1 runoff will be between Jeff Harris and Tonja “T.J.” Sims, who were first and second, respectively, in the March 3 voting ahead of George Freas and Clifton Brown.

And for Place 3, voters will choose between Tammy Ray and Lisa Andersen, who were the top two over three other contenders — incumbent Kenneth Wood, Lendel Flournoy and James “Jim” Vaughn.

One statewide race of local interest, for District 59 representative, is also scheduled to have its runoff on July 14. That will be between incumbent J.D. Sheffield and challenger Shelby Slawson of Stephenville. They were the top two vote-getters on March 3, ahead of Cody Johnson of Stephenville.