Incumbent Barbara Mitchell was re-elected and former mayor Johnny Martin and council newcomer Carol Sue won seats on the Glen Rose City Council in Saturday's election.

Voters also overwhelming passed the $19.995 million bond election to build a new 2,000-seat arena and make other improvements to the Glen Rose Independent School District.

The uncanvassed vote totals for city council were: Dianne Gruber, 44; Martin, 87; Mitchell, 82; Oldenburg, 67; Ken Prikryl, 52; and incumbent Rocky Terry, 60.

Results will canvassed and Mayor Pam Miller will swear in the new council members on Tuesday, May 11, at 8:30 a.m. at Town Hall.

The three seats were up for election because Mitchell's and Terry's council terms were expiring and Councilman Ricky Villa decided not to run again.

Martin, who had name recognition on his side and did little campaigning or advertising, relied on his experience on the city council and on the planning and zoning and preservation boards. He currently is a member of the board for the Somervell County Historical Commission.

Mitchell, 63, owns the His & Hers Salon downtown. She has served on the committee that came with the city's Comprehensive Plan, is a member of the downtown association, the Chamber of Commerce and contributes to the local food bank. She also serves on the panel that is evaluating applications for the proposed new position of city administrator.

Oldenburg, 71, serves on the 4-B Tax Advisory Board and on the executive committee of the Somervell Council on Aging. In her campaign she stressed that a retired senior citizen was needed on the council to bring the perspective of someone who lives on a fixed income.

“I'm not against growth, but you have to be able to pay for it,” she said. “We're not going to get a raise. What we've managed to save is all we have.”

In the school bond election, 401 voters cast ballots for the issue of new bonds and 180 voted against it. The bonds will be used to finance the new arena, transform the existing gym into a new band hall, expand the ag barn facilities and upgrade technology throughout the district.

Somervell County voters also overwhelmingly chose Brian Birdwell in the Republican race to fill the remainder of Kip Averitt's term for State Senate District 22. Gov. Rick Perry called the special election when Averitt resigned earlier this year for health reasons.

In the county Birdwell won 184 votes, followed by former state senator David Sibley with 60 votes, Gayle R. Avant with 36 votes and Darren Yancey with 23 votes.

Districtwide, Sibley received 45 percent of the total vote, while Birdwell garnered 36 percent. The runoff election date will be set by Gov. Perry.