Texas State Representative Sid Miller will take his seat in the Texas House for his fifth straight term as the representative for District 59.

Democratic opponent Ernie Casbeer lost his bid against Miller, earning 27 percent of early votes. Miller walked away with more than 69 percent, giving him once of his narrowest margins of victory since 2000. Coy Reynolds took home 3.42 percent of the vote.

“I’d like to thank all the people who supported my campaign,” Miller said. “It’s definitely not a one-man show.”

“I gave it my best effort and did everything I could do,” Casbeer said, adding he was looking forward to returning to his position as a schoolteacher and debate coach.

District 59 includes Comanche, Coryell, Mills, Hamilton, Erath and Somervell County. Miller was first elected to the district in 2000 and served in the 77th legislative session.

The only contested race in the county was for the spot of Precinct 1 Constable. Karolee Oates challenged incumbent James Moore for the title. However, the race ended abruptly when Moore passed away shortly after early voting was underway.

Oates took 72 percent of the vote with 1,228 votes. Moore collected 471 votes.

Ron Hankins ran unopposed and was re-elected as County Attorney with 2,154 votes

Greg Doyle was re-elected as the Somervell County Sheriff with 2,935. He ran unopposed.

Darlene Chambers was re-elected to the position of County Tax Assessor-Collector with 2,308 votes

Zach Cummings, who was unopposed, retained his seat on the Commissioner’s Court for Precinct 1. He collected 687 votes.

Lloyd Wirt will continue to represent county residents as the Precinct 3 Commissioner with 546.

Alan Thompson was re-elected to the position of Precinct 2 Constable with 1,016.

Republican U.S. Sen. John Cornyn, a heavy favorite and by far the bigger spender in his race, defeated Democratic long-shot candidate Rick Noriega to secure a second term Tuesday night.

Cornyn took more than 70 percent of the Somervell County votes with 2,431. Noriega 919 votes, or 26.77 percent.

Democratic U.S. Representative District 17 incumbent Chet Edwards won the district but narrowly lost in Somervell. Republican Rob Curnock took 49.66 percent while Edwards took 48.38 percent of the votes.

Republican Michael Williams won more than 66 percent of the county votes for Railroad Commissioner.

Republican Wallace Jefferson won 68.17 percent of the votes for Chief Justice Supreme Court.

Republican Dale Wainwright took home nearly 66 percent of the votes for Supreme Court Justice Place 7.

Republican Phil Johnson garnered 69 percent of the votes in the county for Supreme Court Justice Place 8.

Republican Tom Price earned more than 66 percent of the votes for Criminal Appeals Judge Place 3. Paul Womack won 70 percent for Place 4 and Cathy Cochran won more than 87 percent, giving the Republicans a clean sweep in the courts.

Republican Gail Lowe won 70 percent of the county votes for State Board of Education District 14.

Republican Rex Davis won more than 70 percent to take home the title of Justice for the 10th Court of Appeals.

Republican John Neill was unopposed and was elected to the 18th Judicial District as District Judge.

Republican Dale Hanna was also unopposed and was elected as the District Attorney.

Records show 5,900 registered voters in Somervell County with 60 percent making it to the polls this year. More then 74 percent voted Republican.

Late overseas and provisional ballots will not be counted until Nov. 10.