On Saturday, Jan. 10, eight Glen Rose High School band students competed at Waco Robinson High School for a spot in the Association of Texas Small School Bands (ATSSB) All-State Band.

Participating students included Brenda Salinas, Chelsea Fenton, Mason Morris, Carrie Evans, Joslyn Sandlin, Kristen Eller, Kevyn Reiff and Joseph McPherson.

Students first had to qualify for a chance to compete for position in the band.

More than 9,000 students from the state auditioned in 20 different regions for a place in their respective all-region bands. The top chairs in each region advanced to one of five area auditions held on Jan. 10.

Only 240 out of 1360 students were selected for all-state honors.

Two students, Carrie Evans, on clarinet and Joseph McPherson, on trombone, advanced to State and they both placed 1st chair in their instrumental auditions.

Ray Portillo, who took over the reigns as head band director at the start of the academic year, was proud of his students’ accomplishments.

“We are proud of all of the students involved in this process, everyone’s drive keeps raising the bar of excellence,” Portillo said.

Students selected for the ATSSB All-State Band will rehearse in San Antonio Feb. 11-14. The students will perform at 3:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 14, in Ballroom A of the Henry G. Gonzales Convention Center in downtown San Antonio.

Mike Vax, International Artist for the Yamaha Corporation of America, will be the clinician-conductor of the All-State Jazz ensemble.

John Whitwell, Director of Bands Emeritus at Michigan State University, will conduct the All-State Symphonic band.

William Wakefield, Director of Bands at the University of Oklahoma, will be the clinician-conductor of the All-State Concert band.

Philip Sparke has been commissioned to write a piece special for the Concert band.