WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Congressman Bill Flores (R-Texas) introduced legislation that would prevent any salary increases to members of both the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate during the next two fiscal years.

“Our nation is on the verge of going over the fiscal cliff because Washington has a spending problem. President Obama still does not understand this problem as he has just recently issued an Executive Order granting pay increases to most civilian federal employees and to Members of Congress,” said Flores. “I believe that given our current economic climate and huge federal deficits, these raises are grossly inappropriate and an insult to hardworking American taxpayers. These factors have prompted me to introduce legislation to halt these salary increases for Members of Congress.”

Last Thursday, President Obama issued an Executive Order which would increase federal employees pay, including the salaries of Members of Congress. H.R. 6720, introduced by Congressman Flores, would provide that no pay adjustment for Members of Congress or Senators be made in fiscal year 2013 or 2014.

“Last year, I introduced the Reconnecting Congress with America Act, which lays a foundation of congressional reforms that would overhaul our system of governing, restore confidence in Congress and reconnect Congress with the American people. It includes language that would tie pay standards for the elected officials of the House and Senate to real world economics and eliminate altogether automatic increases to Congressional salaries. I plan to reintroduce an updated version of this legislation for the 113th Congress and add language to prevent pay increases through Executive Orders,” Flores stated.

For additional information regarding the Reconnecting Congress with America Act please visit flores.house.gov.

Congressman Bill Flores represents the 17th District of Texas and is an entrepreneur, former energy executive, Certified Public Accountant (CPA) and member of the House Budget, Natural Resources and Veterans’ Affairs Committees.