A Tarleton State University journalism instructor, and Somervell County resident is now rubbing elbows with some of the best in the business. Dan Malone recently joined the ranks of Jim Lehner of PBS, Bob Schieffer of CBS, Sam Donaldson of ABC News and journalist Bill Moyers.

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association inducted Malone into its hall of fame at the group’s convention in Dallas on April 9.

“I’m honored and humbled to be included in distinguished company,” Malone said, “and grateful to be able to pass along what I know to students at Tarleton.”

Malone, who shares the 1992 Pulitzer Prize for investigative reporting, has been at Tarleton since 2006. Before teaching, he worked at the Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star-Telegram and the Fort Worth Weekly. He has also published freelance articles in the Reporter.

During his time at Tarleton, Malone’s students have won awards from the Society of Professional Journalists and have had stories published in newspapers across the region and state. Tarleton students also have participated in the Light of Day Project sponsored by the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas.

Malone’s journalism students are involved in TV broadcasting, print reporting and online journalism.

Malone has received many journalism awards. In addition to the Pulitzer Prize, he has earned the Thurgood Marshall Award, Print Journalist of the Year, 2004 Houston Press Club and the 2006 James Madison Award from the Texas Freedom of Information Foundation.

Malone is a graduate of the Mayborn Graduate School of Journalism at the University of North Texas and the University of Texas at Austin, where he served as the editor of the Daily Texan from 1977 to 1978.