WACO - Gov. Rick Perry has appointed one new member, reappointed six current members and confirmed three interim members to the Brazos River Authority board of directors. 

The appointees were confirmed by the Texas Senate on April 13. 

Raleigh R. White, IV, M.D. of Temple has been appointed to replace Grady Barr of Abilene whose term has expired. White will serve a six-year term to expire in Feb., 2019. 

White is a retired plastic surgeon and long-time resident of Temple.  He graduated from Southern Methodist University and later received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

Members reappointed to the BRA Board and their terms of service are: Richard Ball of Mineral Wells, F. LeRoy Bell of Tuscola, Peter G. Bennis of Fort Worth, William A. “Bill” Masterson of Guthrie, G. Dave Scott, III of Richmond and Salvatore Zaccagnino of Caldwell. Each of their terms will expire in 2019.

Scott will continue in his current role as presiding officer serving at the pleasure of the governor. 

Members confirmed to serve interim terms, replacing board members who have resigned their positions are: Paul Christensen of Crawford, filling the term of Chris DeCluitt, which expires in 2017; Chet Creel of Olney, filling the term of Trent McKnight, which ends in 2015; and William John Rankin of Brenham, filling the term of John Steinmetz, also expiring in 2015.

The 21-member BRA board is appointed by the governor and confirmed by the state senate. They serve six-year terms with one-third of the board being replaced each odd numbered year.  

About the Brazos River Authority

The Brazos River Authority, with headquarters in Waco, is the oldest river authority in Texas. Created by the Texas Legislature in 1929, the BRA’s 42,000 square-mile territory includes all or part of 70 counties; extending from the Texas-New Mexico border west of Lubbock to the Gulf of Mexico near Freeport. 

The BRA built, owns, and operates three reservoirs (Lakes Possum Kingdom, Granbury and Limestone).  In addition to these water supply reservoirs, the BRA contracts with the Corps of Engineers for the water supply storage space at eight federal multi-purpose flood control and water conservation reservoirs (Lakes Whitney, Belton, Proctor, Somerville, Stillhouse Hollow, Granger, Georgetown and Aquilla). 

The Brazos River Authority operates a regional wastewater system for the cities of Temple-Belton and the Brushy Creek Regional Wastewater System for the City of Round Rock. The BRA also operates wastewater treatment plants for the cities of Georgetown, Dime Box, Clute-Richwood, Sugar Land, Hutto and Liberty Hill.   

 The BRA owns and operates the East Williamson County Regional Water System for the City of Taylor and operates potable water treatment plants for the cities of Dime Box and Leander. 

The BRA engages in water quality monitoring activities throughout the Brazos River basin.  As a member of the Texas Clean River Program, the BRA samples and tests water from 141 locations throughout the basin on either a monthly, quarterly or annual basis. 

For further information on the Brazos River Authority, please contact Judi Pierce, public information officer at (254) 761-3103.