Former Glen Rose High School football standout Cody Burtscher is one of two Tarleton State University athletes named as winners of the annual Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award.

Burtscher and Bailey Wipff were selected by the LSC as the Scholar-Athlete award winners from Tarleton.

Burtscher, a four-year football letterman who recently graduated, was named the second player in Tarleton football history to earn All-America recognition from the American Football Coaches Association. He also earned honorable mention All-America honors on the Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team.

He was a CoSIDA first-team Academic All-America selection, D2CCA first-team all-region, first-team All-Lone Star Conference, academic All-LSC, and LSC Linebacker of the Year.

Earlier this year, Burtscher was also named a national semifinalist for the National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell trophy and the national Cliff Harris Award that recognizes the top defensive players in the country.
Wipff, a 3-year starter for TexAnn Basketball, was the LSC Academic Player of the Year and was named second-team All-LSC while leading the TexAnns to the LSC tournament championship and the NCAA Tournament her senior year.

Each year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. The student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.
To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and be a member of the graduating class.