GLEN ROSE — The Glen Rose Runnin’ Tigers placed second in District 7-4A with a 6-2 mark and earned a berth into the Class 4A playoffs, and because of that success, seven players earned all-district honors.

Glen Rose senior Jett Gould and Kanyon Keese topped the list for the Tigers with first-team selections while four others earned second-team plaudits and one was named honorable mention when the teams were released last week.

“Jett really stepped up into his role this year as a senior,” Glen Rose basketball coach Owen Clifton said. “It was good to see him play and perform on the level he did this year. He represents our program well.”

Gould led the team in points (9.2 ppg), rebounds (5.4), assists per game (2.4) and total steals (59), while Keese averaged 7.1 points and 2.4 rebounds. He also hit 40 3-pointers, dished out 60 assists and tallied 57 steals. 

“Kanyon exceeded expectations this year, and I’m really happy for him,” Clifton said. “He plays with a chip on his shoulder and plays incredibly hard.”

Kolton Mooney, Collin Dunson and Austin Worthen were named to the second team, and Kasen Keese was honorable mention.

The Tigers finished 18-17 overall and lost 56-46 to Krum in the first round of the Class 4A playoffs. 

“I’m happy as a coach to go from fifth to second in one season. I felt like we played so much better this year. We still have a lot of growing to do but happy with this year,” Clifton said. “We have to have a great offseason and summer and continue to get better. Ball handling and toughness will be a big focus this summer.”

All-District 7-4A

Overall MVP: Zach Strong, Brownwood

Offensive MVP: Skylar Stilwell, Stephenville

Defensive MVP: Brennen Hawkins, Godley

Sixth-Man: George Nicholas, Brownwood

Newcomer: John Wilhelm, Brownwood

Coach of the Year: Nadir Dalleh, Brownwood

First Team

Adonis McCarty, Brownwood, Isyah Campos, Brownwood; Kanyon Keese, Glen Rose; Jett Gould, Glen Rose; Grayson Traweek, Stephenville, Ross Bullock, Mineral Wells

Second Team

Theo Bryant, Brownwood; Cooper Swanzy; Brownwood; Cody Storrs; Stephenville; Trace Morrison, Stephenville; Kolton Mooney; Glen Rose; Collin Dunson, Glen Rose; Austin Worthen, Glen Rose; Walker Freeman, Godley.