Reporter Staff Report

It was all smiles for the Glen Rose Junior High football teams last week as they celebrated a clean sweep of Hillsboro, outscoring the Eagles 72-6 in four games.

The eighth “A” Tigers were the only Glen Rose team to allow Hillsboro to score, but they were victorious 22-6 to complete the Tigers’ night of domination.

Hayden Holder scored on a one-yard run and tossed two touchdown passes of 25 and 20 yards to Sam Strother to account for the Tigers’ scoring.

Jonathan Rios, Trey Yocham, Christian Ibarra, Brett Taylor, Colten Lane, Jacob Locke and Cody Halcom paced the defense, while Holder, Strother, Preston Shuffield, Hayden Swearengin, Christian Barrios, Dawson Matheny and Chance Nabours led the offense.

In the other “A” team battle, the seventh grade Tigers won 6-0 because of the defensive leadership of Cashion Klipfel, Stanton Mann, Dakotah Stroud, Braxton Barrios and Jadon Morris.

Chasen Monk scored the only points on a 3-yard TD burst, placing him among the offensive standouts list that also includes Gage Costello, Stone Colstello, Miguel Barraza and Drayton Williams.

The eighth “B” Tigers won 30-0 thanks to the shutout efforts of defensive standouts Angel Amezcua, Bradlee Ingram, Austin Carpenter, Antonio Ponce, James Gillentine and Ryne K’Miller.

Ingram had the only touchdown the Tigers would neet, returning a kickoff 65 yards to the house.

Glen Rose added plenty more scoring for good measure, with Alex Cocita finding the end zone on runs of 40 and 38 yards, Dalton Gould scoring on a 20-yard run and Amezcua rushing to pay dirt from five yards out.

Offensive standouts included Gould, Cocita, Chas Campbell, Azahel Herrera, Ethan Krueger, Shane Moore and Evan Richesin.

The seventh grade “B” Tigers scored on runs of three and 10 yards by Daniel Sandoval and Callen Ballesteros while Hillsboro was unable to put any points on the board.

Defensive standouts Matt Branham, Ty Campbell, Ruben Salas, Peyton Chappell, Kason Brewer and Tucker Garza fueled the shutout, while offensive standouts included Sandoval, Ballesteros, Nolan Fowler, Jonathan Fernandez, Judd Pendleton and Jared Brandt.