Glen Rose and Gatesville split the district championship on the 7-3A basketball hardwood, but when it came time to name the league's most valuable player, there would be no tie.

Ryan Bruce, a 6-1 senior guard who scored more than 30 points 10 times this season, took district MVP honors for the Tigers, winning the award over Gatesville's Dominique Moore, who was named offensive MVP.

The Tigers also picked up another special award with the release of the 7-3A All-District team, as 5-8 sophomore Jorge Espino was named Newcomer of the Year.

Three other Tigers picked up first-team all-district recognition, including 6-4 senior posts Derek Thompson and Nathan Yeager and 5-8 senior guard Waylon White.

Colt Plaster, a 5-11 junior, earned second-team recognition.

The Tigers, who went 26-7 and reached the Class 3A Region I quarterfinals, also grabbed a coaching honor, as 600-game winner Wayne Roberts was named Co-Coach of the Year along with Brian Edwards from Gatesville. GHS also reached the regional quarterfinals. The Tigers and Hornets split their district contests, with each winning convincingly on their home floor.

Glen Rose had one player named as an honorable mention selection in 6-1 junior Ty Taylor.

See Page 8 for related photo.