Tarleton seeks nominations for 2016 Rodeo Hall of Fame inductees

Courtesy Tarleton State University SPECIAL to the Reporter

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton State University Rodeo Hall of Fame is accepting nominations through Friday, Jan. 15, for it 2016 induction.

This marks the hall of fame’s fifth class of inductees.

The 2015 Rodeo Hall of Fame inductees were Jennifer Smith-Driver, Steve Fryar, David Key and Turtle Powell. Darla and Bob Doty, Dr. Wanda Mercer, J.J. Hampton and Ryan Watkins were inducted in 2014.

The 2013 inductees included Tarleton’s first-ever NIRA championship rodeo team from 1967: Billy Albin, Charles Bitters, Johnny Kirk Edmondson, Bobby Hungate, Lionel Lane, Randy Magers and Terry Walls. Also inducted in 2013 were former rodeo coach Carl Chumney and Dr. Ken Dorris, a longtime supporter of the program and former veterinarian for the rodeo team.

The 2012 inaugural inductees were Angie Watts Averhoff, Vicki Higgins Emerson, Sally Preston, Karen Walls, Connie Wilkinson Wood, Martha Tompkins Wright, Sharon Harrison Youngblood and Hadley Reed. All of these women were on one or more of the women’s championship teams of 1969, 1970 and 1971.

“Tarleton rodeo has had a huge impact on the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association and the NIRA Southwest Region,” said assistant rodeo coach Trevor Ervin. “Today, Tarleton has one of the largest teams in the nation, with 116 card-holding student members, and continues to demonstrate the winning tradition set years ago.”

The first rodeo team at Tarleton was formed in 1947. Since then, student competitors have won seven national championship titles and 24 individual national titles, plus numerous event and team championships within the NIRA Southwest Region.

Individuals and teams named to the hall of fame perform at a level distinctly and significantly higher than that of their teammates or associates, said head rodeo coach Mark Eakin. “Their performance bring honor and distinction to Tarleton,” he said.

Anyone interested in nominating a past Tarleton rodeo student or coach is encouraged to fill out the nominating form located under the “Hall of Fame” link at: www.tarleton.edu/rodeo.

For additional information, call the Office of Rodeo Activities at 254-968-9187.

Tarleton State University, a member of The Texas A&M University System, provides a student-focused, value-driven educational experience marked by academic innovation and exemplary service, and dedicated to transforming students into tomorrow’s professional leaders. With campuses in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian and online, Tarleton engages with its communities to provide real-world learning experiences and to address societal needs while maintaining its core values of integrity, leadership, tradition, civility, excellence and service.