Students excel at UIL competition

Special to the
Glen Rose placed Academic Overall Runner-Up, along with multiple individual placements during the UIL competition in Mineral Wells on March 27.

The Glen Rose High School UIL academic teams traveled to Mineral Wells on March 27 to compete in the District’s Academic Competition.

These students have been practicing and competing diligently since the fall to prepare for the competition.

Glen Rose placed Academic Overall Runner-Up, along with multiple individual placements. Twenty-six students will advance to the regional meet on April 11-13, which will be held in Lubbock.


1st Place Team

Addelynn Lumpkins – 1st Place

Ushma Dhakal – 2nd Place

Ashlynn Perry – 3rd Place

Amanda Mao


2nd Place Team

Noah Phillips – 1st Place – Top Scorer Chemistry

Matthew Locke – 6th Place – Top Scorer Alternate Chemistry

Ready Writing

Jody Keahey – 6th Place


Jaqlyn Evans – 2nd Place

Ashlynn Perry – 3rd Place

Persuasive Speaking

Ayari Araujo – 1st Place

Paloma Gonzalez – 3rd Place

Vivian LaMure – 5th Place

Number Sense

2nd Place Team

Carson Osborne – 4th Place

Jenna White – 6th Place

News Writing

Bailee Boyett – 2nd Place

Drew Dunson – 3rd Place


Harrison Hawkins – 6th Place

Literary Criticism

2nd Place team

Aleksei Sisco – 4th Place

Jacy Moss – 6th Place

Lincoln Douglas Debate

Nicolas Cruse – 2nd Place

Sarah Reilly – 3rd Place

Informative Speaking

John Hague – 3rd Place

Riley Thrasher – 4th Place

Headline Writing

Fisher Chism – 1st Place

Feature Writing

Trinidy McCoy – 3rd Place

Mary Young – 5th Place

Clara Thompson – 6th Place

Editorial Writing

Garrett Davis – 4th Place

Current Issues

2nd Place Team

Harrison Hawkins – 3rd Place

Copy Editing

Joel Mendoza – 1st Place

Austin Woolard – 6th Place

Computer Science

Kaylee Flanary – 4th Place

Orrin Miller – 6th Place

Computer Applications

Abby Payne – 2nd Place

Ashlynn Baker – 3rd Place

Avery Turner – 4th Place

Calculator Applications

Harrison Hawkins – 6th Place


1st Place Team

Jacee Van Derbeck – 1st Place

Emery Brewer – 2nd Place

Emma Crabtree – 3rd Place

Jillian Kirklley

Team Awards:

Journalism Team – 1st Place

Speech Team – 1st Place

Spelling & Vocabulary Team – 1st Place

Accounting Team – 1st Place