Douglas, Cantwell top list of all-district honorees

Jay Hinton
Glen Rose Reporter
Glen Rose senior Jeana Douglas was named the District 6-4A Co-MVP.
Glen Rose senior Hannah Cantwell was named the District 6-4A Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

GLEN ROSE — The Glen Rose Lady Tigers landed five players on the District 6-4A superlative and first-team lists when the teams were released Monday.

Senior Jeana Douglas was named the Co-MVP, while senior Hannah Cantwell was named the Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

“Jeana has improved every season of her Lady Tiger career,” Glen Rose girls basketball coach Ramsey Ghazal said. “She keeps adding pieces to her game from offensive rebounding and finishing inside to adding different post moves to adding a 3-point shot to perfecting her free throws.”

Douglas led the Lady Tigers in scoring at 13.7 points per game and rebounding at 7.4 caroms per game.  

“I think there were only two games all season that Jeana didn’t reach double digits in scoring,” Ghazal said. “That’s impressive when a lot of the teams are gearing up to slow her down.”

Cantwell, who was a second-team selection last year after battling a major ankle injury for most of her junior year, bounced back in her senior season to received the top defensive award.

“This year she was healthy, her mental approach became more focused and confident, and she controlled the game on both ends of the court for us,” Ghazal said. “She was our best defensive player, and she put the clamps on the other team’s best player. I’m so happy that she was able to get a special honor.”

Cantwell averaged 7.0 points, 3.5 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.4 steals per game for the Lady Tigers, who finished the season 26-4 and advanced to the Class 4A regional semifinal where they lost to Canyon, 53-27.

Hazel Hawkins was named to the first team for the second straight year, while Abby Stephenson, who was second-team last year, was named to the first team as well as freshman Aimee Flippen.

Senior Zaidey Mills was named to the second team, while Kaydence Davis and Samantha Ellenberger were named honorable mention.

Cantwell, Davis, Douglas, Ellenberger, Flippen, Hawkins and Stephenson were named academic all-district.

“With most of these girls being academic as well just shows how dedicated they are to everything that they do,” Ghazal said.

District 6-4A All-District Awards

• Co-MVPs: Jeana Douglas, Glen Rose; Alee McClendon, Stephenville

• Offensive MVP: Landry Withers, Stephenville

• Co-Defensive MVP: Hannah Cantwell, Glen Rose; Caitlin Chacon, Gatesville

• Newcomer of the Year: Mya Wilson, Stephenville

• Co-6th Man of the Year: Morgan Lovejoy, Lampasas; Tamaiya Wesley, Stephenville

• Coach of the Year: Jason Hodges, Stephenville

First Team

• Tessa Goodwin, Brownwood

• Ainsley Warren, Gatesville

• Allaiya Jones, Gatesville

• Aimee Flippen, Glen Rose

• Hazel Hawkins, Glen Rose

• Abby Stephenson, Glen Rose

• Juliana Dwamena, Lampasas

• Jaylee Matthews, Stephenville

• Jade Wilson, Stephenville

Second Team

• Jaylen Savage, Brownwood

• Jenna Coward; Gatesville

• Kamryn Higginbotham, Gatesville

• Cadence Smalley, Gatesville

• Zaidey Mills, Glen Rose

• Taylor Alle, Lampasas

• Addison McDonald, Lampasas

• Kennedy Coffee, Stephenville

• Katie McIrvin, Stephenville

Honorable Mention

• Alexa Arreola, Brownwood; CarolAnn Hertzel, Brownwood; Lindset Larose, Brownwood; Brooke Price, Brownwood; Taylor Coward, Gatesville; Kagen Hunt, Gatesville; Kaydence Davis, Glen Rose; Samantha Ellenberger, Glen Rose; Kyleigh Ball, Lampasas; Laurie Bender, Lampasas; Coble Chandler, Lampasas; Zoe Birdwell, Stephenville

Academic All-District

• Brownwood: Alexa Arreola; Tessa Goodwin; Lexi Greer; CarolAnn Hertzel; Lindsey Larose; Naysa Leach; Brooke Price; Mady Pyle; Kynslee Walker

• Gatesville: Charlee Barron; Caitlin Chacon; Jenna Coward; Taylor Coward; Kamryn Higginbotham; Allaiya Jones; Cade Smalley; Aluyah Trotter; Ainsley Warren

• Glen Rose: Hannah Cantwell; Kaydence Davis; Jeana Douglas; Samantha Ellenberger; Aimee Flippen; Hazel Hawkins; Abby Stephenson

• Lampasas: Taylor Allen; Jamie Ball; Laurcy Bender; Julia Dwamena; Morgan Lovejoy; Addison McDonald; Bre Quarles; Apsen Wheeler

• Stephenville: Zoe Birdwell; Kennedy Coffee; Seren Fowler; Alee McClendon; Katie McIrvin; Jaylee Matthews; Jade Wilson; Mya Wilson; Landri Withers